world war one & circus

Today is a busier day. Off to meet someone from Baz Theatre Company about doing some more puppetry workshops for them, followed by an interview to associate direct a UK tour, followed by a meeting with a costume designer, followed by a meeting with a sound designer, followed by a theatrical speed-dating event for circus artists and directors. Phew.

The UK tour is somewhat hilarious – it’s a revival of Journey’s End, the World War One drama (that’s not hilarious, obviously) but almost every other young director I know has been asked to interview – and we were clearly all sent the same cryptic email being recommended by ‘our friends at the Young Vic’. Really? Well, it’s still nice to be asked.

The costume designer – Kate Lane – I met briefly a few weeks ago at a director/designer networking event that was part of a series of events Will & I are curating at the Young Vic. Always good to meet new costume designers. And the sound designer – Paul Millen – is designing the sound for Coalition – which I’m rather excited about and I think will be pretty extensive. New terroritory for me really as I’ve only ever really worked with composers and music, rather than sound designers.

Then finally circus speed-dating at the Circus Space. I’ve been trying to get involved in circus and circus-theatre for a while so finger’s crossed I make some good connections…

