having the writer in the room

More rehearsals for Coalition. It’s so lovely having the writer in the room – which really isn’t always the case with new writing (the loveliness that is, they are quite often in the room. A lot). Nimer is so brilliant and open and just generally terrific and if there’s something I can’t answer I can just ask him. Not always so easy getting answers out of dead writers.

Then we had a dinner party with one of the Southbank Centre producers – who I now have to make a cushion for (I embroidered Will a cushion a few years ago which is very intricately personalised). Heather also reminded me that I promised I’d make her one last year. So now I have a backlog of cushions to make…maybe I should have that as another strand on this website – ‘cushion embroider-er (for hire)’.

