ups and downs

A morning of phone calls and lots of meetings scheduled with regional theatres – my agent will be pleased! Then a meeting with a writer about putting on his play – after Gotcha I’m suddenly interested in making more naturalistic/realistic work – who knows maybe I’ll even direct some Chekhov one day! Then some less good phone calls in the afternoon – the landscape of productions that I’m directing this year shifts at an alarming rate! But whatever happens is the right thing, and all that.  It’s all a good lesson in letting go.

Then off to the Young Vic this evening to start work on the project I’m still keeping under wraps – but I will say it involves puppets and opera and am working with a great new composer – Isobel Waller Bridge who I met at Mark Ravenhill’s brunch last year.

