busy again

After the gentleness of Monday yesterday and today have got a bit busy again. Yesterday had a phone meeting with Layla, followed by a costume meeting with Kate in her amazing studio – so much more exciting to play with fabric in three dimensional space than simply move lines around on a page. Then met up with Nimer for a double whammy of dramaturgical chat about Stc and also Pursuit of Love, which he’s hopefully adapting. Then we had some process time in the Young Vic exploring the initial ideas for that with some actors, some music and a very early draft of a potential scene that he’s written. Massive inspirations about how to do an adaptation of a novel – which of course I’m grappling with on a daily basis. Coupled with all of Nimer’s thoughts on my latest draft meant a very late night for me as I scribbled another draft until 2.30 in the morning. And between the young vic session and the late night writing I squeezed in another meeting with the other directors for the Young & Late project.

Phew. So today was marginally less busy. Spent the morning writing up my changes from last night – I always write new drafts by hand in pencil over the old drafts (that folder is getting pretty fat now). Then off to a meeting with some producers to talk about the supermodel project…all very exciting. Though the meeting carried on into the tube, to the extent that I went all the way out to Richmond to carry on the conversation. But it was a great conversation so totally worth it. And now on the tube back into town where Will and I are having a meeting with the Young Vic about running some more director/designer workshops and then we’re both staying for a Q&A with David Lan.

Tomorrow things ease off, thankfully…

